Starting problem...

All about the BT1100

Topic author
Diamss

Starting problem...

Beitrag von Diamss »

Hi everyone. My name is Jon and have introduced myself on the German side of the Forum :-D

And now I have a problem with my pet - my 2002 Bully was working fine until earlier and now she doesn't start at all :(

I am by no means a mechanic but have a (very) basic understanding of most principles to do with the general running of an engine. One of the reasons for getting the Dog in the first place was to work on it, learning as I go along, so here we are... Dog is ill, needs fixing, let the learning curve begin!!

The symptoms at the moment sounds as though the starter motor turns but doesn't turn the engine, thus giving a horrible grinding or churning sort of sound...
Reading through the forum, I found two German topics which seem to relate to this problem:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=9323
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=6801

My German isn't really that bad but I had a little difficulty on the context of one or two areas in these topics. Hence my cry for help in the English sector of the Forum :)
Welche ist der Polrad genau? Habe eine Ahnung, sicher bin ich aber nicht.

So far I have removed the Starter Motor and ran it directly from the battery and it seems fine to me, (not sure if this is a good test or not but it worked :) ). It can also be manually turned one way with some resistance but not the other. I've not dismantled it yet (couldn't get the bolts undone and didn't want to overdo it)
The battery is ok, this was tested with a battery tester thing.
From the sound of it I doubt if it is the Carburettor; though I do want to strip and clean the carbs as well as change the needles and jets.

Any assistance would be appreciated in fault finding and possible remedies. I'll be doing any repairs myself hopefully!